What a wonderful world.

Looking out my sliding glass back door today made me realize something. Yeah, it’s a little overcast. There’s not a lot going on being a Friday afternoon. Until you look a bit closer.

I turn my head to the sky, fat fluffy clouds hanging lazily overhead. A bird passes by, to distant to identify.

Dip my head towards the ground and spot a line of ants making their way through a previously unknown hole in the porch siding. I’d been wondering where the ants popping up in the house had infiltrated.

I scan to my left and see dozens of vehicles of various shades of the rainbow. Which got me to thinking, how amazing is it that we live in a time and place where vehicles are commonplace. Where flight from one side of the planet to the other is as simple as popping online and buying a plane ticket, then showing up at the airport.

The numerous innovations that have made our lives not only easier, but more full in many cases. The human race is truly impressive. A few hundred years ago the internet couldn’t be comprehended. Now it’s so commonplace, many people couldn’t imagine living without it.

Seeing as how we’re so awesome, in so many ways, there’s no reason we can’t do an even better job in the future. Our generations, and those that follow will have a choice that none before them had. We can, and ultimately will, decide the future of not only our species but of every species of life on this beautiful planet.

It is our choice to do everything we can to make our future as glorious as it has the obvious potential to be. It’s pretty simple too, when you break it down. Taking a few minutes out of your day to sort your recycling, or carpooling on trips when it makes sense, and even stopping to pick up a piece of trash while you’re walking down the road does make a difference.

My dream of the future is one in which we’ve moved on from fossil fuels to renewable energy. Where people are judged based on who they are and what they do, not where they’re from or what they look like. A place in which the animals we share this planet with are treated with respect and protected. A place where war and violence and greed are a thing of the past, something learned in school history class.

The coolest part, my dreams totally possible. I can’t do it alone, but I can and will do my part. I sincerely hope others will do the same.

Tags: , , , ,

About caseyjones89

I like to write. To observe human nature. To envision what the future might hold. Fingers crossed for immortality and friendly dragons capable of both speech and interstellar travel.

Leave a Reply

